Natural Resources & Eco-Tourism Steering Committee

Natural Resources & Eco-Tourism Committee


The Beaver Island Natural Resources and Ecotourism Steering Committee (NRESC) was created by Peaine and St. James Townships in September 2011 - a citizens advisory group of Island organizations, the Michigan Department of Natural Resources, the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians, and at-large Island residents to develop plans and projects for the Island. Members of the NRESC:

Peaine Township's appointee to the Commission - Sandra Birdsall

St. James Township's appointee to the Commission - Marie Boyle

Peaine Township Planning Commission's appointee - Bill Markey

St. James Township Planning Commission's appointee - Linda McDonough

Beaver Island Association's appointee - Craig Schrotenboer

Beaver Island Chamber of Commerce appointee - vacant

Beaver Island Community Schools appointee - Rob Groesbeck

Beaver Island Contractors and Realtors Group appointee - vacant

Beaver Island Wildlife Club appointee - Jeff Powers

Michigan Department of Natural Resources appointee - Jennifer Kleitch

Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians - Noah Jansen

Peaine Township Trails Committee appointee - Vacant

At-large members (appointed by the township boards):

 Pam Grassmick, Seamus Norgaard, Cindy Ricksgers

Contact Information:

Marie Boyle is chairman of the NRESC. She can be contacted
Jeff Powers is vice chairman of the NRESC. He can be contacted at

© 2016 Peaine Township, MI 36825 King's Highway, Beaver Island, MI 49782

Powered By Revize Login